Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   GBM campaign witnesses slew of activities across Reasi district on Day- 3 | Udhampur court rejects bail in murder case | Traditional Shobha Yatra for Janmashtami will not take place: Dharmarth Trust | Traditional Shobha Yatra for Janmashtami will not take place: Dharmarth Trust | 2076 dropouts reenrolled under ‘Back to School’ initiative in Udhampur | Two militant OGWs arrested | Anti Corruption Bureau raids premises of SFC employee | Sericulture to get boost with new silk weaving factory in Samba | One-way traffic resumes on Srinagar-Leh highway | Div Com Jammu reviews arrangements for Muharram | Highly qualified youth being forced to starvation, asserts Harsh | Cong calls for review of security amid increased attacks on political activists in Kashmir | Havan yagna organized at Palwal | Locals take out candle light march to protest closure of Mubarak Mandi entrance gates | Back Issues  
news details
No confidence motion moved against prez, vice prez of Kathua MC
Infighting in BJP
7/2/2020 11:54:57 PM


KATHUA, July 2: Councilors of BJP-led Municipal Council Kathua on Thursday moved a no-confidence motion against the incumbent municipal president and vice president before Deputy Commissioner Om Parkash Bhagat in his chamber for their alleged “non-satisfactory performance “and for unruly behaviour.
“11 councilors of Municipal Council (MC) Kathua have moved a no-confidence motion against Naresh Sharma, who is the incumbent president and vice president Rekha Kumari, However, only 8 councilors were present and submitted a letter with signs of 11 councilors,” Deputy Commissioner,” said Deputy Commissioner, Om Parkash Bhagat.
The BJP councilors who revolted against their own president include Bhupinder Kumar, Karan Singh, Ravinder Pathania and Joginder Pal.
The MC Kathua has a total number of 21 wards and one seat of Municipal Council is lying vacant due to resignation of Independent councilor Rajinder Sin
11 out of 4 BJP Councilors accuse chair of
‘non-satisfactory performance’
h Bubby. Congress had won 5 seats and 8 seats had won by independent candidates.
Later, Naresh Sharma along with four Congress councilors had joined BJP and elected President of MC Kathua.
It is pertinent to mention here that the incumbent president of the Municipal Council Kathua, Naresh Sharma hasn’t had enjoyed a smooth tenure ever since he occupied the chair back in November 2018 as J&K’s Chief Electoral Officer had ordered the disqualification of four of the 20 councilors of Municipal Council Kathua including Naresh Sharma in June 2019, after they defected from the Congress to the BJP.
However, J&K Special Tribunal Jammu stayed the disqualification order issued by CEO, J&K with regard to the election of the Councilors, Naresh Kumar and others in October 2019 which paved the way for the incumbent president to hold on to his chair but it remains seen now that whether the luck smiles once more on the beleaguered MC Kathua president or not.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center